The Time is Growing Short

The time is growing short and we are living in increasingly accelerated times. Times of fast food, fast knowledge, and fast money to satisfy our fast paced lives.

But there is a great emptiness at the center of the whirlwind of our hurried existence. An emptiness shaped by the disappointment and disillusionment that is the inevitable result of our fast-paced addiction to temporary gratification. The great void we are experiencing inwardly is the absence of lasting inner peace and true spiritual joy.

This deficit can never be remedied by the manufacture of man. It is not a device that it might be fixed by human ingenuity. Nor is it an ailment that it might be healed by a temporary circumstance of happiness.

Lasting peace and true spiritual joy cannot be found in life’s fast lane. Lasting peace and joy can only be experienced as we allow the great emptiness within to be regenerated and rehabilitated by the power and the presence of the living God.

Deuteronomy 4:29  29 But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul.

Psalm 63 – A psalm of David. When he was in the Desert of Judah.

You, God, are my God,
    earnestly I seek you;
I thirst for you,
    my whole being longs for you,
in a dry and parched land
    where there is no water.

I have seen you in the sanctuary
    and beheld your power and your glory.
Because your love is better than life,
    my lips will glorify you.
I will praise you as long as I live,
    and in your name I will lift up my hands.
I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods;
    with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

 

10 thoughts on “The Time is Growing Short

  1. SitAtHisFeet

    I was just thinking about this today, how people believe if only they were happy things would be okay. But there is a difference between happiness and joy. Joy is a constant and happiness is temporary. Joy can be compared to a flower surviving on a healthy plant. It will live longer when it is connected to its root. If it is cut the water, no matter how good, cannot sustain it as long as its roots did. Happiness no matter how good cannot sustain us as long as the joy of knowing Christ. Thank you for this post. I must say I’m reading it on a very short break in my fastpaced life, but I will remember to slow down and listen at His feet. Thanks!

    Reply
  2. The Jericho Blog Post author

    I think people are afraid to take things down a bit. Fear of rejection from the children who rely on the soccer mom and the dad that goes to every sporting event with the kids. Fear of saying no to the overtime at the job, fear of societal rejection for not volunteering for the event, fear of disapproval from a God they believe demands a certain level of performance, even fear of being alone with their own thoughts for awhile. People feel trapped by all their fears.

    Reply
  3. messagefromthefield

    A timely word for me. There is always too much to do and it is easy to be fooled that the busyness equals satisfaction and accomplishment. Really spoke to me in the Scripture you wrote from Deuteronomy “but if from there you seek me” wherever I am God will meet me there.
    Thanks for sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

